The Art of Engineering: Lift Off Into Space and Explore the Milky Way with Two New LEGO® Sets

Image The Art of Engineering

25th April 2024: Today the LEGO Group unveils two new sets that allow space enthusiasts to go out of this world, by exploring the art of engineering excellence behind the human space missions to get a glimpse of what’s out there.

The LEGO® Icons NASA Artemis Space Launch System set is a 3,601-piece set for adults and interpretates the Artemis Space Launch System, including a multistage rocket with 2 solid-fuel boosters and a detailed mobile launch tower with retractable umbilicals, rocket support and crew bridge.

Now in brick form, this accurate replica also includes a model of the Orion spacecraft, which is powered by the European Space Agency’s European Service Module, complete with foldout solar panels, which can be placed inside the rocket or on a separate display stand. A sticker adds the finishing touch to this impressive model - perfect for home and office décor.

The Artemis campaign is exploring the Moon for scientific discovery, technology advancement, and to learn how to live and work on another world as NASA prepares for human missions to Mars. NASA will collaborate with commercial and international partners and establish the first long-term presence on the Moon. Through the Artemis program, NASA will land the first woman and first person of color on the Moon, using innovative technologies to explore more of the lunar surface than ever before.

Bring to life the vast beauty of the Milky Way with the LEGO® Art The Milky Way Galaxy. This awe-inspiring piece of art is composed of 3,091 pieces, which you build in layers to produce a 3D effect of incredible depth and texture. Packed with features, this wall art includes some of the Milky Way’s most famous stars, clusters and other spectacles, including Trappist-1, The Pleiades, The Crab Nebula and The Pillars of Creation.

The set is made from 5 different panels, each with its own building instructions booklet so a group of friends or loved ones can create this astronomical build together. Builders can also scan a QR code in the building instructions booklets to discover more about the Milky Way through the set’s specially curated podcast ( The podcast features Jack Gardner Vaa (the LEGO Group host), Camille Bergin (Aerospace Engineer turned Science Communicator AKA Galactic Gal), Dr. Maggie Aderin-Pocock (Chancellor of the University of Leicester and one of the most prominent science educators of our time) and Adam Vaughan (the LEGO Group Designer).

Once built, the large Milky Way Galaxy piece of wall art can be displayed using the hanger elements.

Notes to Editors

For more information, please contact:

Product information
LEGO® Icons NASA Artemis Space Launch System (10341)

  • Pieces: 3601
  • Ages: 18+
  • Measurement: Height: 70cm, Depth: 30cm, Length: 27cm
  • Availability: LEGO Insiders 15th May 2024
  • All: 18th May 2024
  • Link:
  • Price: 259.99 EUR/ 219.99 GBP/ 259.99 USD

LEGO® Art The Milky Way Galaxy (31212)

  • Pieces: 3091
  • Ages: 18+
  • Measurement: Height: 40cm, Depth: 5cm, Length: 65cm
  • Availability: LEGO Insiders 15th May 2024
  • All: 18th May 2024
  • Link:
  • Price: 199.99 EUR/ 169.99 GBP/ 199.99 USD

About the LEGO Group
The LEGO Group’s mission is to inspire and develop the builders of tomorrow through the power of play. The LEGO System in Play, with its foundation in LEGO bricks, allows children and fans to build and rebuild anything they can imagine.

The LEGO Group was founded in Billund, Denmark in 1932 by Ole Kirk Kristiansen, its name derived from the two Danish words LEg GOdt, which mean “Play Well”. Today, the LEGO Group remains a family-owned company headquartered in Billund. However, its products are now sold in more than 130 countries worldwide.

For more news from the LEGO Group, information about our financial performance and responsibility engagement, please visit

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’s gateway to space. ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Slovenia are Associate Members. ESA has established formal cooperation with four Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. It is working in particular with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes as well as with Eumetsat for the development of meteorological missions.

Learn more about ESA at